Played at GenCon Saturday night...

Introductions, Greetings, Salutations, and other Noob Questions.

Played at GenCon Saturday night...

Postby Zhenn » Mon Aug 03, 2015 8:02 pm

...and now I'm here. I played Mikhail (Misha for short) doing the 1st scenario with a couple of you. Thank you to those who deigned to sit with the other guy (sorry, I'm terrible with names) and me; especially for me, the total noob to the game. I very much appreciated the help and all the explanations.

So... last night I acquired all the PDFs I could find. Quite a bit to read, and I hate reading on my computer or even tablet. I've been cruising around the website, and I realize I probably won't be able to play again until next year, but I may as well indulge my current fascination by making a character. So, please correct me if I am wrong, but I am going to create a character from scratch so that I can figure that all out and make the character a bit more my own and learn the rules better while I'm at it. I believe that is kosher, according to what I've read thus far, and to still use the experience and such that I've acquired through play?

I used a pre-made. I plan on building a similar character, but by the standards now set. My understanding is that I build off of 130 hero points and 4xp per retired scenario and whatever xp I earned. I assume that, since I played one of the scenarios retired, I should substitute the experience I earned for the scenario retired. Thus, I should be building a character on 130 hero points and 4xp * 3 scenarios plus the 6 xp I earned in that first scenario... so 130 HP and 18 xp. Am I correct in this?

I plan on building an Ussuran Swordsman with similarities to the pre-made. I plan on only using the core rulebook, the Ussuran book, and perhaps the Swordsman's Guild book if I'm feeling frisky. I've already read the suggestions for new players thread, so I may even have a clue about what to do.

Hello to everyone and hopefully this is in the right area...